Recognising innovators and leaders at PIKOM Unicorn Tech Awards

  • Almost 1,000 industry representatives were in attendance 
  • Also recognised at the event were MSC Malaysia APICTA recipients 

Recipients of the PIKOM Unicorn Tech Excellence Awards. (left to right):  Oliver Liu of Huawei Malaysia, Lawrence Leang Wah Choon, Ong Chin Seong, YB Teo Nie Ching, Alex Liew, Azlan Ahmad of TNB, Tan Sri Datuk Amar Haji Mohamad Morshidi, Raymond Devadass

PIKOM recently held its PIKOM Unicorn Tech Awards Night on 27 July 2023 in Kuala Lumpur. The event was attended by Teo Nie Ching, Deputy Minister of Communications and Digital, and close to 1,000 industry representatives.

Recognising innovators and leaders at PIKOM Unicorn Tech AwardsPIKOM Chairman Ong Chin Seong (pic), in his welcoming speech, said, "Be it for policy and regulatory change, Pikom works to address issues that can impact the digital economy, talent gap, industry pain points, business growth, ESG, and other issues pertinent to the industry. We work with various ministries and agencies and other players in the ecosystem to benefit our members, industry, and country."

Teo said, "Creating cyber security awareness and taking steps to strengthen data protection is critical as we foresee Malaysia becoming a digital hub of Asia, but more importantly, we must protect the Rakyat from more losses resulting from future cyber-attacks."

This year, the PIKOM Unicorn Tech Awards 2023 recipients were recognised alongside winners from MSC Malaysia Asia-Pacific ICT Alliance Awards (APICTA) 2022 and PIKOM Academy Training Partners.

Under the PIKOM Unicorn Tech Awards, eight Chapter Excellence Awards, seven Special Recognition Awards, six Scale-Up Tech Icon Awards, and five main category awards were given out. 

The recipients of the main awards are: 

  • Huawei Malaysia for Member Excellence Award.
  • Lawrence Leang Wah Choon for CIO Excellence Award.
  • Raymond Devadass for Technopreneur Excellence Award.
  • Tenaga Nasional Bhd for Tech Organisation Excellence Award.
  • Amar Haji Mohamad Morshidi, Chairman of Sarawak Digital Economy Corporation for Technology Personality Excellence Award.

The MSC Malaysia APICTA is an annual Award recognising the achievements of individuals, students, SMEs, innovators, and entrepreneurs in the ICT industry. 14 winners and merit recipients of the MSC Malaysia APICTA 2022 Awards were recognised at the event.

Among the winners are: 

  • Genting Malaysia Bhd.
  • Innergia Labs.
  • ABS Software International Sdn Bhd.
  • NexMind AI Sdn Bhd.
  • BSMART System Solutions Sdn Bhd.
  • Asia Pacific University.

The night ended with the recognition of 10 PIKOM Academy Training Partners who have collaborated with PIKOM to deliver training content in line with current industry needs.

The complete list of award recipients is available at


Related Stories :

Keyword(s) :
Author Name :
Download Digerati50 2020-2021 PDF

Digerati50 2020-2021

Get and download a digital copy of Digerati50 2020-2021