92 Malaysian organisations get international accreditation via CSM

  • Common Criteria ISO/IEC 15408; (ISMS) ISO/IEC 27001, or Malaysia Trustmark certs
  • Certification critical in ensuring business information is protected, says minister
92 Malaysian organisations get international accreditation via CSM

A TOTAL of 92 Malaysian companies have successfully obtained information security certificates from CyberSecurity Malaysia (CSM) as of Dec 31, 2014, the country’s national cybersecurity specialist agency said in a statement.
CSM said it completed its inspection and audit before directing its Information Security Certification Body (ISCB) to issue certificates to the organisations for successfully complying with the international standard of information security – either the Common Criteria ISO/IEC 15408, the Information Security Management System (ISMS) ISO/IEC 27001, or the Malaysia Trustmark.
“CyberSecurity Malaysia has embarked on several key national initiatives to help strengthen Malaysia’s information security certification standards,” Minister of Science, Technology and Innovation Dr Ewon Ebin said at an appreciation ceremony organised by CSM.
“Last year, CSM was reappointed the Chair of the World Trustmark Alliance (WTA), a global organisation of trustmark operators comprising 37 members from 30 countries.
“To further improve the standard and sustainability of cybersecurity evaluation, the information security certification conducted by CSM is extremely critical in ensuring business information is adequately protected,” he added.
To date, CSM’s certification services have certified 41 ICT products under the MyCC Scheme and 22 Critical National Information Infrastructure (CNII) organisations under the CSM27001 Scheme; while 29 e-business websites have been validated under the Malaysia Trustmark Service.
CSM was appointed a Certificate Issuing Member of the Common Criteria Recognition Agreement (CCRA) in September 2012, allowing it to produce internationally-recognised Common Criteria ISO/IEC 15408 Certificates.
CSM also offers the Information Security Management System Audit and Certification (CSM27001) Scheme based on the ISO/IEC 27001 standard, which was established in May 2011 in support of the National Cyber Security Policy (NCSP).
It offers independent security audits, and certifies an organisation’s information security management system (ISMS).
Being ISMS-certified provides a degree of assurance that business process are evaluated to ensure improved performance; while reducing the likelihood of security risks being present, CSM said.
Meanwhile, CSM chairman General Mohd Azumi Mohamed (Rtd) noted that Malaysia was third in global ranking among 193 ITU (International Telecommunications Union) member countries (alongside Australia and Oman) as a nation with the highest levels of commitment in cybersecurity in the latest Global Cybersecurity Index published in December 2014.
“In the Asia Pacific region, Malaysia is No 1 in cybersecurity preparedness, having achieved the top ranking alongside Australia. This latest ranking is a testament of the level of commitment shown by CyberSecurity Malaysia in raising our nation’s cybersecurity capability and preparedness,” he said.
Related Stories:
CSM chief named outstanding security exec in Asean
Malaysian Government formulates national cyber-crisis policy
The day Malaysia painted a bull’s eye on itself
23 companies get CSM security certification
CSM rolls out MyTrustSEAL to reduce online fraud
For more technology news and the latest updates, follow us on TwitterLinkedIn or Like us on Facebook.

Keyword(s) :
Author Name :
Download Digerati50 2020-2021 PDF

Digerati50 2020-2021

Get and download a digital copy of Digerati50 2020-2021