Malaysian companies bag six awards at Asocio Awards

  • Awards recognise individuals, organisations that have impacted society
  • Pikom’s councillor Stan Singh elected vice chairman of Asocio

(L-R): Wee Huay Neo, Ong Kian Yew, Dan E Khoo, Prof. Dr Hanif Md Saad, Dr David Khoo, Asocio chairman David Wong, Pikom chairman Dr Sean Seah, Fong Choong Fook, Syanizam Azrul, Fabian Bigar, Ganesh Kumar Bangah at the Asocio Tech Excellence AwardsSix Malaysian companies clinched various the Asocio Tech Excellence Awards at the recently concluded Asian Oceanian Computing Industry Organisation summit held on Oct 28.

Hosted by SGTech, the event saw participation from member economies, regional tech industry leaders, policymakers and other key stakeholders to discuss and debate on issues relating to the global digital economy.

This year saw 52 awards in 8 categories presented, with Malaysia clinching the following:

  • Outstanding Tech Company Category - Century Software (M) Sdn Bhd;
  • Outstanding User Organization Category - Sunway Group;
  • Digital Government Category - Mydigital Corporationl
  • EdTech Category - Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM);
  • HealthTech Category - iHEAL Medical Group; and
  • Cybersecurity Category - LGMS Berhad

It added that other winners included tech companies from Bangladesh, Thailand, South Korea, Taiwan, Japan, Myanmar, Vietnam, Singapore and Laos.

According to the association, the prestigious Asocio Tech Excellence Awards is given to the individuals and organisations that have contributed to technology solutions and services and have made remarkable and successful efforts at providing digital opportunities to the society.

In conjunction with the Digital Summit and Tech Excellence Awards, Asocio also conducted its 64th board meeting where the Malaysia's National ICT Association's (Pikom) councillor Stan Singh was elected vice chairman for 2023-2024 term. 

Outgoing chairman David Wong for the past six years will be ending his term at the end of 2022. He also received a special recognition award for hisservice as Asocio chairman.

Pikom’s chairman Sean Sean said, “Wong's leadership and contribution has helped nurture Asocio to be what it is today, as the region's largest Federation of Tech Associations.

“I also congratulate Stan Singh as the newly elected vice chairman of Asocio, representing Pikom,” said Seah.

Asocio, a federation of ICT associations representing 24 economies throughout the Asia-Pacific region started in 1984.

Its objectives include developing the ICT industry across the region by promoting trade and fostering relationships between its member economies. 


Related Stories :

Keyword(s) :
Author Name :
Download Digerati50 2020-2021 PDF

Digerati50 2020-2021

Get and download a digital copy of Digerati50 2020-2021