Local filmmaker shortlisted in YouTube film festival

  • Filmmaker’s entry ‘Wickate’ one of the 50 selected out of 15k entries
  • YouTube users to vote to send 10 finalists to the Venice International Film Festival

A MALAYSIAN filmmaker’s entry into the YouTube Your Film Festival – a global competition to find the world's best storytellers – has been selected as one of the 50 semi-finalists from among 15,000 submissions globally.
Niralji Ravishanker, who created the film Wickate, was among the 50 filmmakers chosen by renowned production company, Scott Free Productions, a TV and film production house owned by renowned directors, brothers Ridley and Tony Scott, YouTube said in a statement.
YouTube said Scott Free Productions had the difficult task of narrowing down more than 15,000 submissions from more than 160 countries across the globe.
Content creators around the world were asked to submit a 15-minute, story-driven video of any format, style and genre, YouTube said. Submissions came from all over the world and the semi-finalists reflect the global reach of the festival, it added.
The next phase of the competition will comprise voting by the YouTube community, further narrowing to 10 the number of filmmakers for the finals. The 10 finalists will travel to Italy, where their work will be screened at the 69th La Biennale di Venezia (Venice International Film Festival) in August.
A grand-prize winner will then be named by a special jury, which includes Ridley Scott and acclaimed actor, Michael Fassbender, and awarded a US$500,000 YouTube original production grant to work with Scott Free.
Starting today and through to July 16, the entire YouTube community will be able to view and vote on the selection of films at youtube.com/yourfilmfestival.  
The YouTube Your Film Festival is brought to you by YouTube, Scott Free Productions, Emirates, in partnership with The Venice International Film Festival.
The 50 semi-finalists are listed below:

Film, Filmmaker, Country of Residence. [Click link to watch film]
88:88, Joey Ciccoline (USA)
Aisha's Song, Orlando von Einsiedel (United Kingdom)
An Exclusive, Krzysztof Szot (Poland)
Bat Eyes, Damien Power (Australia)
Bench Seat, Anna Mastro (USA)
Biondina, Laura Bispuri (Italy)
Boot, Damien Power (Australia)
Camino Al Cementerio, Mijael Milies and Carla Pastén (Chile)
The Child, Sebastian Mantilla (Spain)
Cine Rincao, Fernando Grostein Andrade & Fernanda Fernandes (Brazil) 
Cortometraje Teta y Sopa, Alberto Gómez (Spain)
Das Tub, James Cunningham (New Zealand)
The Debt Collector, Alan David Morgan (USA)
Doorhandle Thoughts, Carlos Crespo Arnold (Spain)
Dr Grordbort presents: the Deadliest Game, James Cunningham (New Zealand)
The Drought, Kevin Slack (USA)
Ebony Society, Tammy Davis (New Zealand)
El General, Diego Pino Zamora (Bolivia)
El Porvenir- Episodio 1 Hermanos, Manuel Alejandro Anell (Mexico)
Fish, Shaun Escayg (USA)
Good Pretender, Maziar Lahooti (Australia)
The Guilt, David Victori Blaya (Spain)
I'll Keep an Eye on You, Torben Bech (Denmark)
Kiss, Alex Murawski (USA)
La Carta,  Angel Manuel Soto Vazquez (Puerto Rico)
Learning Spanish the Hard Way, Eric Stolze (USA)
Letting Go, Daniel McCauley  (South Africa)
No Exit, Jesper Isaksen (Denmark)
North Atlantic, Bernardo Nascimento (United Kingdom)
The Obstacle, Maxim Neafit Bujnicki (Ukraine)
On My Doorstep, Anat Costi (Israel)
Our Mission: Pascal, Johanna Pyykkö (Sweden)
Photo For Baba, Harel Yana & Moti Malka (Israel)
Picnic, Gerardo Herrero (Spain)
The Return Address, Abi Varghese (USA)
Scruples, Adrian Powers (Australia)
Secular Quater #3, David Gidali (USA)
Skatesistan: To live and skate in Kabul, Orlando von Einsiedel (United Kingdom)
Skin of Glass, Lukas Dhont (Belgium)
Sold, John Irwin (USA)
Start the Engine and reverse, Andrey Zagidullin (Russia)
Stop. Watch. Love, Brad Herbert (USA)
Storm, Cesar Cabral (Brazil)
Super.full., Niam Itani (Lebanon)
The Telegram Man, James Francis Khehtie (Australia)
Ter Ter, David Lucchini & Fabien Carrabin (France)
Then and Now, Paul Johannessen (Japan)
This Time, Ramy EL-Gabry (Egypt)
Turkish Coffee, Thiago Luciano (Brazil)
Wickate, Niralji Ravishanker (Malaysia)
To watch an in-depth discussion on how the filmmakers were judge, click here.


Keyword(s) :
Author Name :
Download Digerati50 2020-2021 PDF

Digerati50 2020-2021

Get and download a digital copy of Digerati50 2020-2021